World Concept Art

I’ve been stressing mostly over my lack of drawing ability to visualise an idea, but it didn’t stop me from dedicating hours to meaning concept art for our world. I’ve been reading about the usage of concept art and my final pieces, while definitely not near perfect, do exactly what concept art intends to it – give a visual cue to put the world into the context of it’s image.

I started by doing two sketches (which shocking took me a relatively long time) that would improve my drawing skills. I aimed to kill two birds with one stone – create a concept for a location in the world; and learn to draw in perspective.

I focused on the slum environment because there was a lot of discussion about how it should look in addition to the passageway that leads to the impoverished areas. Looking at images of slums and claustrophobic locations, I began to follow with my Basic Perspective book and do a one-point perspective so show the intimacy and isolation of the darker end of the world. I added details that showed the entity coming through and highlighted the combination of both neon and grubby colours. The focus was on making it rough and desolate.

sketch1             sketch3

The blue tubing then represents the passage of energy to the lower regions, however, note that in the second image the tub is much shorter, representing the deprivation the lower groups feel. The green ooze on the first image is to symbolise the entity reclaiming (and harvesting) back it’s internals.

BUT, I’ve been working 12 hours straight on a piece of concept art that I almost shed a tear of how proud I was making it. This piece is certainly not the most impressive or even that well made, but for someone who has only started to draw and design things, I’m incredible relieved and chuffed with how my efforts paid off.

WORLD ARCHITECTURE A3

© Ryan Hollinger 2013

world blueprint

© Ryan Hollinger 2013

This is the architectural blueprint for the world, breaking up the different sections of the ship and showing our team’s version of space as an almost water-eque electrical environment.

Leave a Reply

