Irony, Cliche and an Introduction to Film

We’ve decided that our film will be an ironic play on generic student life and looking at the perception of ego. From experience, traditional student films tend to follow the ‘a day in the life’ trope and take a series of everyday mundane events, hoping to tell a story. We’ve decided to take a MAJOR RISK by looking at uninspired activities one would do in the morning and use them to stylise a comedy that contrasts two polar opposite emotions – one character is immensely content, the other is miserable. In such film, we looked at getting out of bed, getting ready, etc. and looked for a way to have FUN with it.

As this was an introduction to filmmaking for 4/5 of the group, I did want to avoid taking reign over the film being the one with the most experience, so I instead focused on introducing the group to various concepts and techniques employed in filmmaking such as how to craft a story, generate pacing and consider elements of the miss-en-scene and cinematography. As a group, we developed the story around our passion for Micheal’s 500 Days of Summer dance scene, which straight away gave us the idea to (as people who want to enjoy making things) HAVE FUN. We poked fun of pretentiousness in film as we began to develop the script and we thought we’d challenge what’s taught at ‘art college’ and make a film that generate the emotion of joy. Too many student films attempt to tackle ‘social problems’ without understanding the context of the topic and thus creating an ignorant piece. We ALL have an ego and it’s something we can relate too because we all experience it differently. It’s something that drives artists as people who disown their work despite it’s attention to detail!

In many ways, we want our film to seen amateur and cheesy to showcase the fun of making the film. The way we see it, if we break the forth wall subtly by making people think “They certainly had fun making that!”, we’ve succeeded in our goal. We avoided morbidity and depression to make something entertaining, and something that actually goes outside our comfort zone. For example, I’m not comfortable acting onscreen, or being in a project that potentially people I know will see, but I set that aside to make a film I and the group knew would be enjoyable.

When explaining various camera tips and tricks the group, I began to rekindle my passion in film a bit. I came to this course to film something new and I began to revisit something I forgot I was good at. When the project is finally complete, I’m sure I’ll typically (and now hypocritically) take a dislike to the film, but I’m content with the direction the film is going, so to hell with it. I’ll have my fun.

Leave a Reply

