Scratch That… It Was Fcheck

Yeah, I missed that part. After finally getting .png files to render, Hannah Turkington was a genius in reminding me to throw all the frames into Fcheck then export it as a film. And by magic, it worked.

I spent the day continuing to revise the various tools of Maya while also getting curious to the point where my filmmaking inspiration came back to me, encouraging me to play with the camera and lighting to give a bit of cinematography to the proceedings. After getting my last ball to bounce – making one which was more disciplined and bounced down each step – I gave it a new material and coloured it then just to see what various buttons did, I played with 3 point lighting only to over intensify the scene, resulting in me only using a directional light source to illuminate the ball. After toying with key framing, I decided to track the spot light with the ball to give a focal point, for mostly quirk.

Eventually this lead to my discovery of the camera… then I began playing with camera motion by attaching it to a curve path and ended the evening by panning the camera with the ball while positioning a spot light to give the scene some sense of atmosphere.

Screen Shot 2014-02-06 at 20.34.00

My focus for now is to try and get used to key framing and timing in order to add more realistic physics to the ball. I did manage to add a squash and squish to the physics but due to the speed the ball moves, it’s rather hard to see.

Screen Shot 2014-02-06 at 20.25.55 Screen Shot 2014-02-06 at 14.48.15 Screen Shot 2014-02-06 at 20.26.09

Leave a Reply

