Research: Finding Interests in the Pipeline (Paul Wells)

I’ve been reading through Paul Wells’ The Fundamentals of Animation (2006) for inspiration as to what aspects of the pipeline I genuinely ENJOY. The hardest part of production for me is finding the motivation to engage with it. I lack any enthusiasm for character design and have zero interest in focusing in on modelling and rigging a character. This for me is a core stress I’ve been having. Characters appear to take most of the time to perfect and get right so that the animator isn’t left with the frustrations of figuring out of how to get a a creature to move. I’ll persevere if I have too, but after looking at Paul Wells book, I’ll stood back and considered what does motivate me. This will prove to be a significant element of my learning experience, so finding those generalist aspects I can enjoy will keep me from losing my cool as I progress through the year ahead.

Wells describes the importance of ‘acute observation’ is capture the right character expression (2006, pg. 43). I understand the power of emotional awareness more than I used too but the montony and repetition that comes with it as Wells describes isn’t for me – I don’t like to draw, so how can I understand character movement if I can’t properly visualise it. It’s an area I can continue to develop out of stubbornness for the learning ethos, but I’m positive in my indifference for it.

Composition, layout and editing and cinematic analysis are strengths I believe I possess and can reinforce. Wells highlights where I contribute best – ‘the animator as interpreter’ (2006, pg. 70). He illustrates the processes an animator must consider before starting the design. The ‘metamorposis’ (create change ‘without edit’), ‘penetration’ (visualising ‘psychological/physical elements of the narrative), ‘symbolic association’ (creating meaning) and ‘condensation’ (giving as much suggestion being minimum imagery) (2006, pg. 70). I think being analytic keeps more within the element of narrative development, so taking focus on pre and post production appears to be my area of interest, so I should likely further my research and studies into these areas to strength my position, while also fixing the inadequacies I have in production.

I’ll stick to what I’m best at and what I believe in my ‘unique’ point, but also learn from the things I don’t like… This should be fun.

 

BIBLIOGRAPHY

WELLS, P. (2006) The Fundamentals of Animation. Lusanne: AVA Publishing

One response to “Research: Finding Interests in the Pipeline (Paul Wells)

  1. Pingback: Lighting and Camera Layout | Ryan Hollinger·

Leave a Reply

