UV Unwrapping and Pain

I requested help with the initial understanding of UV unwrapping and once I got the hang of the it after several weeks of complications and frustrations, I managed to learn a lot about patience and modelling. Patience in that precision focus on what was being unwrapped would allow me to understand the various units when in Photoshop as well as to avoid distortions within the UV. Modelling experience simply came down to knowing EXACTLY what you want to be on your model so that it’s easier to unwrap and void complications with edge loops and unseen faces.

For the sake of independent learning and understanding, after being taught UVs, I went back to basics to learn it for myself and get a firmer grasp of the tools. Scott suggested creating a shelf which would allow me to jump between UV texture editor and mapping quickly, then I took a basic cube, selected a each face individually and sewing them together while also understanding the use of flip to keep it a flat surface. From the cube below, I was able to understand why sewing was important and how the mesh was unwrapped was important to the final texture wrap. Scott also suggested until the tile texture to find distortions and scaling issues.

Screen Shot 2014-12-17 at 12.19.10 Screen Shot 2014-12-17 at 13.50.01 Screen Shot 2014-12-17 at 13.52.35 Screen Shot 2014-12-17 at 13.52.47

Screen Shot 2014-12-17 at 15.35.53 Screen Shot 2014-12-17 at 16.42.08

It took several (well, about an entire day) to get a grasp of what I was doing and how each UV corresponds with each other. I unwrapped a basic part of a building so that I could separate the window and wall for texturing. This was just an example before I jumped into UV wrapping for final design.

Untitled Untitled 2 Untitled 3 Untitled 4 Untitled 5

I kept UV unwrapping simple so that I could get an understanding of how it works. I was able to get an idea for what the wrap would look like and I transferred the snapshots to Photoshop and designed textures using a mixture of drawing with paint effects and ROYALTY FREE textures from CG Textures website. I clarify for plagiarism, I have stated all used textures:

RustPaint0196 (Texture: #37332)
WoodRough0088 (Texture: #39499)
MetalPlatesPainted0055 (Texture: #45999)
Rust0139 (Texture: #31360)

This images have no been used to the full degree, instead I primarily used them for reference and masking such as subtle definition of rust and wood while the rest I used paint brushes on Photoshop. It’s likely I will remove all textures before submission and design original textures, however this will be stated in a later blog if highlighted.

The textures for designs:

fence TEXTURE bin handle TEXTURE bin lid TEXTURE  cafe_window_TEXTURE Paper_Wrt_TEXTURE rust_bin_TEXTURE rust_ext_TEXTURE Rust_soft_TEXTURE wood crate wrap TEXTURE wooden_support_for_crate TEXTURE

Leave a Reply

